November 12-13, 2022

november concerts

November 12-13, 2022


Stuart Malina, Conductor
Rachel Naomi Kudo, Piano

Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, Vaughan Williams

Piano Concerto No. 23, Mozart
            Rachel Naomi Kudo, Piano

Symphony No. 2, Brahms

Concerts are held at the Performing Arts Center at Greenwich High School
10 Hillside Road, Greenwich, CT
Saturdays at 7:30 pm     Sundays at 3 pm
Tickets are good for either performance. Maestro Malina invites audience members to remain in the auditorium after the concert for an informal Q&A session.


American pianist Rachel Naomi Kudo is captivating audiences around the globe with her "heartfelt, courageous and perfect playing" (Lübecker Nachrichten). Following her orchestral debut with the Chicago and Fort Worth Symphony Orchestras, Rachel has performed as both soloist and chamber musician at the Bachfest in Leipzig, Royal Castle in Warsaw, Salle Cortot in Paris, Musikverein in Vienna, Tel Aviv Museum of Art in Israel, International Chopin Festival in Duszniki-Zdrój, Poland, Tivoli International Festival in Denmark, Bergen International Festival in Norway, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., and Alice Tully Hall, David Geffen Hall, and Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall in New York.

First prize winner of the International Johann Sebastian Bach Competition in Leipzig, she won the Gilmore Young Artist Award, a Davidson Fellow Laureate of the Davidson Institute of Talent Development, and a Salon de Virtuosi Grant. She earned scholarships from the National YoungArts Foundation and Rohm Music Foundation, and won top prizes at the U.S. National Chopin Competition in Miami and a diploma at the 15th International Chopin Competition in Warsaw. Born in Washington, D.C., to Japanese-Korean parents, Rachel began her studies with Emilio del Rosario at the Music Institute of Chicago. After spending her childhood in Japan, she returned to Chicago to pursue a musical life, playing chamber music and violin in her high school orchestra, appearing on From the Top on NPR, also studying with Kum-Sing Lee in Vancouver, Canada.

Rachel received guidance in master classes of Robert Levin, and from Emanuel Ax and Sir András Schiff at Carnegie Hall's Professional Training Workshops. Aspen Music Festival and School, Juilliard ChamberFest, International Musicians Seminar Prussia Cove, Music@Menlo, Perlman Music Program's Chamber Music Workshop, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center's "Chamber Music Encounters," and New York Classical Players enriched and expanded her musical horizons. Rachel believes in sharing the transformative power of music with the widest possible audience to foster cultural engagement and human connection. In February 2021, in a Virtual Special Event for The Gilmore, she presented the world premiere of Marc-André Hamelin's Suite à l'ancienne, which she commissioned with her funding from the Gilmore Piano Festival. As an educator, she is passionate about mentoring young musicians and has taught master classes worldwide.